Getting Back to Basics—The Fundamentals of Cyber Hygiene

Date: Tuesday, 08 October 2019

Time: 12:00 PM (EDT) / 11:00 AM (CDT) / 09:00 AM (PDT) / 16:00 (UTC)

Duration: 1H

Miguel Sian

Director, Solutions Architecture and Engineering at Merlin

New innovations with cloud and IoT are changing the ways we use technology and how we secure it.

No matter how technology changes there are still the basic things you need to be doing in order to lower your threat risk and maintain the security of your systems and infrastructure.

In this webinar we get back to basics and review steps we know can be taken to improve security and resilience. We will discuss what is good cyber hygiene, why it’s important, and how to ensure your tool and software investments are configured and performing effectively.

Countermeasures to defend against each specific type of threat.

Miguel Sian brings over 20 years of experience in IT systems engineering, solutions architecture, consulting and technical program management.

Currently working as the Director of Solutions Architecture & Engineering at Merlin, Mr. Sian leads a team of cybersecurity solution architects and engineers who provide technical consulting for federal and commercial customers. As an individual contributor at VMware and GTSI, he demonstrated technical leadership which allowed him to serve in leadership roles for strategic program pursuits.

Mr. Sian holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Computer Science, a Master of Science in Management of Information Technology, and several technical certifications.